Je suis Charlie

Je suis Charlie

Donnerstag, 11. Dezember 2014

Once perfect - Cecy Robson






Once perfect von Cecy Robson
Verlag : Loveswept 
ISBN: 9780553391169



 Inhalt:

His life was never easy. Hers wasn’t supposed to be this hard. They come from different worlds, but fate lures them together in a way neither expected in Cecy Robson’s raw, steamy series debut—perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn.   Evelyn Preston’s future once looked perfect—until her wealthy father was caught in an embezzlement scandal and took his own life. Alone and struggling to pay her college tuition and bills, Evelyn finds a job as a waitress at the ultra-hip nightclub Excess, where she used to have more in common with the privileged private-school clientele than her fellow staff members. But something attracts her to the sexy six-foot-four bouncer and underground MMA fighter Mateo Tres Santos. Although they’ve led different lives, their troubled pasts bonds them in both survival and love.   Mateo is ex-army who wound up in prison for assaulting the man who harmed his sister. Now he’s feeling the same protective impulse for this petite blond waitress. When Evelyn experiences a panic attack at the club, Mateo comes to her rescue. And when Mateo is wounded shielding her from a brawl, Evelyn returns the favor and comes to his aid.   As their attraction intensifies, Mateo is determined to find out what nightmares are lurking in Evelyn’s past—even if that means tackling his own to save her.



"Once perfect" ist eine Geschichte, die auf den ersten, okay, auch auf den zweiten Blick, nicht unbedingt eine komplett neue Geschichte erzählt, dies allerdings auf eine Art und weise, die das Ganze sehr lesenwert macht.

Matteo und Evelyn sind zwei interessante und komplexe Charaktere, die man als Leser(in) sehr schnell ins Herz schließt. Ihre vorsichtige Annäherung, ihre versuche, sich eigenen Ängsten zu stellen, um dem anderen eine Stütze sein zu können und ganz nebenbei auch noch die eine oder andere Lektion über Vorurteile, vor denen auch sie nicht gefeit sind und den Umgang damit, machen das Buch zu etwas Besonderem.

Sowohl Matteo als auch Evie haben eine Vergangenheit, die nicht nur den beiden manchmal zu schaffen macht, auch als Leser fühlt man mit den beiden mit. Auch hier findet sich ein sensibler Umgang mit schwierigen Themen, doch trotz Allem, kommt auch der Humor nicht zu kurz. Das Buch liefert eine Achterbahn an Gefühlen, die den Leser manches Mal auch eiskalt erwischt.

Mir gefielen sowohl die Protagonisten als auch ihre Geschichte sehr und ich habe dieses Buch mit Sicherheit nicht zum letzten Mal gelesen.

★★★★

Keine Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen